Strand Critics Award Nominees 2014

The Strand has announced its nominees for the 2014 Strand Magazine Critics Awards. Recognizing excellence in the field of mystery fiction, the CStrand Critics Award Nominees 2014Critics Awards were judged by a select group of book critics and journalists from news venues such as LA Times, Chicago Tribune, Time, CNN and The Boston Globe.Laura Lippman has received her third critics award nomination and took home the prize in 2007 for WHAT THE DEAD KNOW. Other nominees include Tess Gerritsen, Tana French, and Lisa Gardner. Otto Penzler will receive The Strand’s Lifetime Achievement award for his contribution to the crime genre. For over four decades Penzler stood as a giant in the crime publishing genre—he founded Mysterious Press in 1975 and has published authors such as Nelson DeMille, Elmore Leonard, Patricia Highsmith, Eric Ambler, and scores of other bestselling authors. He’s also edited dozens of mystery themed anthologies which have included original works by Michael Connelly, Jeffery Deaver, Ed McBain, and J.A. Jance. And last but not least, he’s the proprietor of the legendary Mysterious Bookshop in New York City. “I have been at every award ceremony since THE STRAND MAGAZINE began to honor the stars of the mystery world and have celebrated with those who received these prestigious prizes,” says Penzler. “In all humility, I was stunned to join their ranks and my heart swells with joy and pride.Best Novel:
1. The Fever by Megan Abbott (Little, Brown and Company)
penzler-for-website2. Jack of Spies by David Downing (SOHO)
3. The Secret Place by Tana French (Viking)
4. Fear Nothing by Lisa Gardner (Dutton)
5. Die Again by Tess Gerritsen (Ballantine)
6. After I’m Gone by Laura Lippman (William Morrow)Best First Novel Nominees:
1. Dry Bones in the Valley by Tom Bouman (W.W. Norton)
2. Dear Daughter by Elizabeth Little (Viking)
3. The Home Place by Carrie La Seur (William Morrow)
4. Ice Shear by M.P. Cooley (William Morrow)
5. Confessions by Kanae Minato and translated by Stephen Snyder (Mulholland Books)
6. The Good Girl by Mary Kubica (Mira)The Awards will be presented at a cocktail party in New York City on July 8, 2015.